Connect with us


Everything you need to know about the 2018 MTV VMAs

In case you missed the MTV VMAs, here’s a recap of the big night, as well as the complete list of nominees and winners!



Amanda Naccarato | Life

This year’s MTV Video Music Awards showcased the very best of 2018 music, videos, and artists that topped the charts! 

MTV rolled out their red carpet for the 2018 VMAs, which aired live Monday night in New York from Radio City Music Hall.

Cardi B opened the awards show returning to the spotlight since giving birth to daughter Kulture Kiari. Cardi teased the massive audience with a Moon Person trophy wrapped up in the form of a baby, before introducing Shawn Mendes who delivered the first performance of the night.

The hostless show featured incredible performances from artists who dominated 2018, including Ariana Grande, Post Malone, Panic! At The Disco, and Jennifer Lopez.

Lopez not only delivered an outstanding medley performance of her many hit songs over the years, but was also awarded the Michael Jackson Vanguard Award for her near two decades in the music industry.

While the show was filled with many memorable moments, one that stood out in particular, was Madonna’s heart-warming tribute to the late Aretha Franklin, who past away last Thursday. Madonna later presented the Video of the Year award, which was given to Camila Cabello.

However, it was Logic and Ryan Tedder’s performance of “One Day” that seemed to truly steal the show.

The singers performed while immigrant families who wore shirts saying  ‘We Are All Human Beings’ were reunited on stage, which was a not-so-subtle nod at Trump’s controversial separation of families at the U.S.-Mexico border.

In case you missed the unforgettable show, here’s the complete list of Moon Person trophies given out last night.

Video of the Year:

Ariana Grande- “No Tears Left to Cry”
Bruno Mars ft. Cardi B – “Finesse (Remix)”
Camila Cabello ft. Young Thug- “Havana” ~Winner
The Carters- “APES**T”
Childish Gambino- “This is America”
Drake- “God’s Plan”

Song of the Year:

Bruno Mars ft. Cardi B – “Finesse (Remix)”
Camila Cabello ft. Young Thug- “Havana”
Drake- “God’s Plan”
Dua Lipa- “New Rules”
Ed Sheeran- “Perfect”
Post Malone ft. 21 Savage- “rockstar” ~Winner

Artist of the Year:

Ariana Grande
Bruno Mars
Camila Cabello ~Winner
Cardi B
Post Malone

Song of the Summer:

Calvin Harris & Dua Lipa- “One Kiss”
Cardi B, Bad Bunny & J Balvin- “I Like it” ~Winner
DJ Khaled ft. Justin Bieber, Chance the Rapper, Quavo- “No Brainer”
Drake- “In My Feelings”
Ella Mai- “Boo’d Up”
Juice WRLD- “Lucid Dreams”
Maroon 5 ft. Cardi B- “Girls Like You”
Post Malone- “Better Now”

Best New Artist:

Cardi B ~Winner
Chloe x Halle
Hayley Kiyoko
Lil Pump
Lil Uzi Vert

Best Collaboration:

Bebe Rexha ft. Florida Georgia Line- “Meant to Be”
Bruno Mars ft. Cardi B – “Finesse (Remix)”
The Carters- “APES**T”
Jennifer Lopez ft. DJ Khaled & Cardi B – “Dinero” ~Winner
Logic ft. Alessia Cara & Khalid- “1-800-273-8255”
N.E.R.D. & Rihanna- “Lemon”

Best Pop:

Ariana Grande- “No Tears Left to Cry” ~Winner
Camila Cabello ft. Young Thug- “Havana”
Demi Lovato- “Sorry Not Sorry”
Ed Sheeran- “Perfect”
P!nk- “What About Us”
Shawn Mendes- “In My Blood”

Best Hip Hop:

Cardi B ft. 21 Savage- “Bartier Cardi”
The Carters- “APES**T”
Drake- “God’s Plan”
J. Cole- “ATM”
Migos ft. Drake- “Walk It Take It”
Nicki Minaj- “Chun-Li” ~Winner

Best Latin:

Daddy Yankee- “Dura”
J Balvin, Willy William- “Mi Gente” ~Winner
Jennifer Lopez ft. DJ Khaled & Cardi B- “Dinero”
Luis Fonsi, Demi Lovato- “Echame La Culpa”
Maluma- “Felices los 4”
Shakira ft. Maluma- “Chantaje”

Best Dance:

Avicii ft. Rita Ora- “Lonely Together” ~Winner
Calvin Harris & Dua Lipa- “One Kiss”
The Chainsmokers- “Everybody Hates Me”
David Guetta & Sia- “Flames”
Marshmello ft. Khalid- “Silence”
Zedd & Liam Payne- “Get Low (Street Video)”

Best Rock:

Fall Out Boy- “Champion”
Foo Fighters- “The Sky Is A Neighborhood”
Imagine Dragons- “Whatever It Takes” ~Winner
Linkin Park- “One More Light”
Panic! At The Disco- “Say Amen (Saturday Night)”
Thirty Seconds to Mars- “Walk On Water”

Video with a Message:

Childish Gambino- “This Is America” ~Winner
Dej Loaf and Leon Bridges- “Liberated”
Drake- “God’s Plan”
Janelle Monáe- “PYNK”
Jessie Reyez- “Gatekeeper”
Logic ft. Alessia Cara & Khalid- “1-800-273-8255”

Best Cinematography:

Alessia Cara- “Growing Pains”- Cinematography by Pau Castejón
Ariana Grande- “No Tears Left to Cry”- Cinematography by Scott Cunningham
The Carters- “APES**T”- Cinematography by Benoit Debie ~Winner
Childish Gambino- “This Is America”- Cinematography by Larkin Seiple
Eminem ft. Ed Sheeran- “River”- Cinematography by Frank Mobilio & Patrick Meller
Shawn Mendes- “In My Blood”- Cinematography by Jonathan Sela

Best Direction:

The Carters- “APES**T”- Directed by Ricky Saiz
Childish Gambino- “This Is America”- Directed by Hiro Murai ~Winner
Drake- “God’s Plan”- Directed by Karena Evans
Ed Sheeran- “Perfect”- Directed by Jason Koenig
Justin Timberlake ft. Chris Stapleton- “Say Something”- Directed by Arturo Perez Jr.
Shawn Mendes- “In My Blood”- Directed by Jay Martin

Best Art Direction:

The Carters- “APES**T”- Art Direction by Jan Houlevigue ~Winner
Childish Gambino- “This Is America”- Art Direction by Jason Kisvarday
J. Cole- “ATM”- Art Direction by Miles Mullin
Janelle Monáe- “Make Me Feel” – Art Direction by Pepper Nguyen
SZA- “The Weekend”- Art Direction by SZA and Solange
Taylor Swift- “Look What You Made Me Do”- Art Direction by Brett Hess

Best Visual Effects:

Ariana Grande- “No Tears Left to Cry”- Visual Effects by Vidal and Loris Paillier for Buf
Avicii ft. Rita Ora- “Lonely Together”- Visual Effects by KPP
Eminem ft. Beyoncé- “Walk On Water”- Visual Effects Supervisor Rich Lee for Drive Studios
Kendrick Lamar & SZA- “All The Stars”- Visual Effects by Loris Paillier for BUF Paris ~Winner
Maroon 5- “Wait”- Visual Effects by TIMBER
Taylor Swift- “Look What You Made Me Do”- Visual Effects by Ingenuity Studios

Best Choreography:

Bruno Mars ft. Cardi B – “Finesse (Remix)”- Choreography by Phil Tayag & Bruno Mars
Camila Cabello ft. Young Thug- “Havana”- Choreography by Calvin Hodge and Sara Bivens
The Carters- “APES**T”- Choreography by Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui and Jaquel Knight
Childish Gambino- “This Is America”-  Choreography by Sherrie Silver ~Winner
Dua Lipa- “IDGAF”- Choreography by Marion Motin
Justin Timberlake- “Filthy”- Choreography by Marty Kudelka, AJ Harpold, Tracy Phillips, and Ivan Koumaev

Best Editing:

Bruno Mars ft. Cardi B – “Finesse (Remix)”- Editing by Jacqulyn London
The Carters- “APES**T”-  Editing by Taylor Ward and Sam Ostrove
Childish Gambino- “This Is America”- Editing by Ernie Gilbert
Janelle Monáe- “Make Me Feel”- Editing by Deki Laray
N.E.R.D. & Rihanna- “Lemon”- Editing by Taylor Ward ~Winner
Taylor Swift- “Look What You Made Me Do”-  Editing by Chancler Haynes for Cosmo

Push Artist of the Year:

July 2018- Chloe x Halle
June 2018- Sigrid
May 2018- Lil Xan
April 2018- Hayley Kiyoko ~Winner
March 2018- Jessie Reyez
February 2018- Tee Grizzley
January 2018- Bishop Briggs
December 2017- Grace VanderWaal
November 2017- Why Don’t We
October 2017- PRETTYMUCH
September 2017- SZA
August 2017- Kacy Hill
July 2017- Khalid
June 2017- Kyle
May 2017- Noah Cyrus

To watch highlights from the show, check out MTV’s website!

Feature image from Billboard
All images from Giphy

Click to comment

Leave a Reply