Staff | Report

Voting for the University of Guelph Senate by-election, a competition between five candidates for one remaining seat representing Guelph-Humber, started on Monday.

Registered students at the university are able to vote via an email sent to their GryphMail accounts, and are able to choose between Hannah Derue, Hooria Katal, Saffiya Lulat, Emelia Maceasik, and Kayla Terciera.

Students will be able to vote until Friday.

Get all the details on platforms here: By-Election 2018

Screen Shot 2018-09-23 at 11.44.13 PM

Although Ms. Derue and Ms. Terciera announced they were running and published their platform during the summer break, all five candidates were only just confirmed on Sept. 17 by the university secretariat.

Last spring, incumbents Dalton Beseau and Dilshan Jayasinghe, along with Genevieve Samlal, won three of the four Senate seats because there were no other competitors, a situation some students blamed on the lack of advertising from the university.

Derue and Maceasik will be at the by-election debate being hosted by The Avro Post via live stream at 12 p.m. on Tuesday.

Terceira and Lulat denied invitations to the debate from The Avro Post and Katal was unreachable by staff.

More details to follow. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.